top of page
  • Writer's pictureE. G. Runyan

The Silmarillion: A Review

Updated: Aug 1, 2023



As most of you know, I have sworn to become a Tolkien nerd. One of my first steps in this direction was to check out The Silmarillion from my library a few weeks ago.

At first I was a little overwhelmed to start it. After all, it’s a couple hundred pages written in a difficult style with a lot of information. However, one morning I woke up really early—too early to get out of bed, but too awake to fall back to sleep. I picked this book up off my stack of TBR and started reading. Eight days later, I had finished it.


My first thought after reading this book is that Tolkien was a genius. To create something so vibrantly new and unique was a huge literary feat. I don’t know of any other writer who developed such a full and detailed backstory that never would show up too much on the pages of his works like The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings Trilogy. In my opinion this book strongly reinforces the C. S. Lewis quote:

“Nobody influenced Tolkien. You might as well try to influence a bandersnatch.”


My second thought is that this book is not an easy read, but it’s completely worth it. I was inspired by almost every page. For fantasy writers, this is a must-read. It’s a look into the notes and thoughts of one of the greatest fantasy writers of all time. In reading this book I learned so much, not only about Tolkien’s writing style, but also about worldbuilding, a skill I’ve always loved but also struggled with.

Fantasy writers, read this book. You won’t regret it.


My third and last large impression was that all fans of the Lord of the Rings books should seriously consider reading this. Do you love the world of Middle-earth? Trust me, reading The Silmarillion is going to deepen your love and understanding of Tolkien’s world. It’s absolutely fascinating.


After reading The Silmarillion, I have countless new ideas in my arsenal for this category that I can’t wait to write about and share with you guys, one of which will possibly be about Tolkien’s history and timeline in light of The Rings of Power television show. Not to mention, there will also be a lot about Tolkien’s characters that I was unaware of before now. I plan on also reading more of the histories and notes so that I can get a clearer idea of The Silmarillion, The Hobbit, and The Lord of the Rings Trilogy.


What about you? Have you read The Silmarillion? Are you a Tolkien fan? Comment below and let me know! I always love hearing other thoughts.

65 views8 comments

8 Comments


Emma Rose Thrasher
Emma Rose Thrasher
Jul 07, 2023

You read the Silmarillion in EIGHT DAYS?? My respect for you has just tripled. You are incredible.

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Jul 07, 2023
Replying to

Yes! Next I am planning on reading "The Book of Lost Tales". After that there are eleven more books in the history which I also hope to read! 😆 I'll probably be writing reviews on those, and also be writing facts about the backstories of familiar characters from LotR and the Hobbit.

Like

Molly McTernan
Molly McTernan
Jul 07, 2023

I have yet to read The Silmarillion, but I own it and have been wanting to for a while. After reading this article, I want to all the more!

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Jul 07, 2023
Replying to

I highly, highly recommend it! It's so inspiring.

Like

Sienna W
Sienna W
Jul 07, 2023

*nods* Yep, so true!

After I read the Silmarillion, I was filled with inspiration and started creating a detailed timeline for my high fantasy realm (*sighs*) . 💜

I recommend The Great Tales of Middle-earth, as well as The Fall of Númenor! These books took popular Silmarillion tales and elaborated on them. ✨

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Jul 07, 2023
Replying to

It inspired me to start working on my fantasy world, too!


I'm about to start "The Book of Lost Tales" and "The Shaping of Middle-earth". I think those books might also be in the list of histories I'm going to read! Thanks for the recommendation!

Like
bottom of page