top of page
  • Writer's pictureE. G. Runyan

Suitcase Full of Sparks and the Midwest

Updated: Aug 1, 2023


Photo credit to Thomas Shellberg

I love the Midwest.


Driving past the farms, seeing the stars at night, going to the pumpkin patch with the youth group, even the infamous ‘chicken butchering day’ is all part of a wonderful life fused with old ways mixed with new. Instead of a skyline covered by skyscrapers, you see endless windmills. Instead of crowded city streets you get empty gravel roads. Instead of men in suits and women in heels, you get a family wearing blue jeans.

Yes, it may not have all the sightseeing. It may not have all of the stunning wildlife and scenery. It may not have many famous landmarks. But honestly, I think it’s one of the most beautiful places in the world. There’s something wonderful about sitting on a back porch with the barn in view and the sun going down.


One of the reasons why I love Gregory Alan Isakov’s song Suitcase Full of Sparks is because it’s very mid-western (I would not recommend all of his music, because he has a couple songs that aren't clean). Isakov lives in Colorado, and I would say that the style of his music has an almost 1800/early 1900 settler’s time kind of theme.

In this song he sings about traveling across the Midwest. As a dweller of the Midwest, which I like to call the Middle-earth of America, this song is very special to me and reminds me of the home I’ll never forget, no matter where I may go and live in future.


29 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page