top of page
  • Writer's pictureE. G. Runyan

On Love



The world is obsessed with love.

It’s everywhere. In the movies, in books, and if you scroll social media or YouTube you’re probably going to see people talking about love. And not just the romantic feely kind. Families, friendships, pets, jobs, all of it boils down to society’s definition of love, and it’s portrayed for us everywhere. How our relationships should work. How people should treat us. What true love should look like.

I’m the kind of person who has a lot of unspoken goals, and I’m probably what most people would call ambitious. I want to try everything; write books, film movies, sing songs. That’s why I’m constantly surprising myself when I realize that for true love, I would give up everything. I would happily throw my writing down the drain forever if it meant that I got to spend the rest of my life with the guy I could give my heart to. That makes the ambitious side of me very uncomfortable sometimes. 


“But you’ve worked for this thing every day for all of your life. You’d really give it all up just for a person?”


Yes, I would. And YES, I may be a practical and straightforward person, but I have a very romantic side. When I was ten, multiple people told me that I was a real-life Anne Shirley. Yes, E.G. Runyan used to float through life commenting about how flowers were her friends and dreaming about a prince that would take her to his castle. 



In Ever After, one of my all-time favorite movies and in one of my all-time favorite film scenes, Prince Henry goes into deep philosophical thought. How can he find the perfect woman for him? How does true love work? It’s not only a funny clip, but it’s also soberingly relatable. 


Henry's thought processes are similar to my own. But instead of trying to unpack how to find the perfect mate (I have strong faith in God's Sovereignty; I'll end up with who I'm supposed to be with) I start to ask the questions what is love and what should it look like? A year ago I was in an immersive Spanish class and my teacher said something that really hit me hard:


“I wish that the English language did not use the word ‘love’ so lightly. To love is to feel something deeply, and we use the word so much in our regular conversation that it has lost so much of its profound meaning. ‘I love that dress’ ‘I loved that movie’ instead of the much more meaningful ‘I love you’.”

It’s true that in Spanish, the language is constructed in a way that makes the word “love” much more special. So what does the word love really mean? Why is it significant that our constant use of the word seems to demote its poignant meaning? 


For me, contrary to the view of society, true love is equivalent to self-death. A true and deep love means that you are willing to hurt for the person you love, whether that means putting their needs over your own, sacrificing your own wants for theirs, or (very importantly) caring about them enough to tell them the truth even when it’s difficult.

Society’s definition of love is associated with happiness and fulfillment. Lies like “Love is love” are a mask for the actual sin and deception slithering underneath. These social agendas and human wrongs are a clever cover-up for self love. So often when I’m watching a love story play out in a movie I find myself thinking, “The only reason so-and-so loves so-and-so is because they make each other feel better about themselves.” 


Instead of being rooted in love, our relationships are so often rooted in selfishness.


While Hallmark movies would have us think that finding “your person” gives you a happily ever after, Biblical love portrays something much more serious. By entering into love of any kind you’re opening yourself up to inevitable pain. To truly love someone you must be willing to strip yourself of what you desire. To deeply care about the wellbeing of another person, you must be willing to speak the truth—which could result in you being rejected. 


Human love is messy and broken and without the gospel it can’t work the way it’s supposed to. 


“Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.”
-John 15:13

The gospel illustrates to us the perfect love that comes through death. Christ loved us so much that he gave up everything for our benefit. This is the love that should be driving our relationships; not a selfish desire for validation but a selfless desire to give, give, give like Christ gave for us. 


In one of my favorite songs "this is what losing someone feels like", music artist JVKE repeats the refrain “When you love someone you tell them that you do”. In his music video he highlights the importance of telling the people you love that you love them. Life is short. Do you love someone? Tell them.


I think about the person I hope to fall in love with every single day. I pray for him, dream about him, and hope for him. I regularly ask Christ for a partner in the future; someone I can laugh with, cry with, and walk through life with. But I’m also constantly having to remind myself that finding my person won’t bring me fulfillment; and the only way a deep relationship can work is if I die to myself all day every day. 


There’s a quote from Louisa May Alcott’s novel Little Women that’s always stuck with me. It's always clearly articulated the way I believe I'm to act on love of any kind. When later on in the story Jo March rejects her best friend Laurie’s proposal, he tells her quite wisely that he knows she’s going to fall in love someday. She quickly argues that she can’t see herself ever getting married, but he replies,


"There'll come a time when you will care for somebody, and you'll love him tremendously, and live and die for him. I know you will, it's your way."

Is that your way? I hope that's my way. I aspire to love like that.

Live and die for the people you love.

Live life for them.

Die for them. 

And if you love them, don’t waste a single moment in telling them you do.

152 views32 comments

32 Comments


Noah Robertson
Noah Robertson
Sep 23

I was reading this post yesterday, and my mom just happened to be reading over my shoulder. She saw your mention of Ever After, and so our whole family watched that movie last night 🤣 it was very fun!!

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Sep 23
Replying to

What, no way! It's a great movie; I'm glad you guys enjoyed it!

Like

Brittney Brianne
Brittney Brianne
Sep 22

Yessss! Such good thoughts! I was just thinking yesterday about how many romance movies feel empty. They’re supposed to give you warm fuzzies, but that’s all it really is. That kind of “love” is much more shallow than love is meant to be. Real love is sacrifice— just look at the way Christ loved us. Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Sep 22
Replying to

Exactly! I couldn't agree more. Thanks for reading, Brittney!

Like

Guest
Sep 22

It thrills me when God puts things right in front of you when the time is right…. Suddenly everywhere you look! This post couldn’t have been timed more perfectly….


And it’s good to know there are more of us out there, waiting and dreaming and praying and believing…. And learning how to truly love.


“He” (this meaning The Yet Thought To Be Unmet Him, of course) is becoming real to me these past few days…. (one of those things you say just because you wanna tell SOMEONE) *insert squeal because God is beyond-my-wildest-dreams good* And love, the way God designed it…. Is mindboggling beautiful.


(Btw…. Have you ever heard of the Dear Future Husband podcast?)

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
4 days ago
Replying to

Awesome! Thanks for the recommendation!

Like

Molly McTernan
Molly McTernan
Sep 22
For me, contrary to the view of society, true love is equivalent to self-death.

SO good!


Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Sep 22
Replying to

Thank you so much!

Like

Karis Berrey
Karis Berrey
Sep 21

"Love is choosing to give," said a pastor who I listened to give a sermon on 1 Corinthians 13.

Love is what should drvie every one of us: God's Love for us drove Him to Sacrifice Himself on the cross for us. Love for God is what should drive us to serve Him. The work in which we are called to serve God drives us to love others!

Love is the central theme of all the greatest films, poems, stories....

And "love" is what so many people are trying to locate or to "feel" in our current hook-up culture...a culture that leads to failed relationships, immorality, sin, corruption. In this culture, it is sometimes easy to forget what love truly…

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Sep 21
Replying to

Wow, so many good thoughts! Thank you for sharing. I couldn't agree more.


I get it; eventually we all must break up with our Honda Odysseys...even the best wheels can't last forever. 😆 Thanks for reading, Karis!

Like
bottom of page