top of page
  • Writer's pictureE. G. Runyan

He's Always Good: Reflections After Love and Loss


Photo credit to Arifur Rahman


God is always good.

Always.

Not sometimes.

Not yesterday.

Not tomorrow.

Always.

This year I've experienced some horrible, premature loss. Things and people died that by the world's definition "shouldn't have yet". I've had some nasty shocks that have left me shaking uncontrollably, grieving beyond tears, and left with an empty, hollow ache.

Through it all, God was so incredible. So real, so big, so there for me. This has one of the hardest years of my life, but I can also say without a doubt that it's been the most wonderful. It's hard, sometimes, to comprehend death, because how could someone so real and alive suddenly be gone? How is it that the person I talked to a few weeks ago or the pet I sat with yesterday morning be dead?


God is the God of life. He's not the God of death. In an amazing way, I know that he's taken what I've lost and given them beautiful life beyond what they ever experienced here. I'm the one living a half-life. They're the ones who are now living the life that God always intended for them to live.


So many random, weird, confusing things happen to me. Still, God is there for us always, no matter what happened to us, what's happening to us, or what will happen to us. How incredible is that?

I'm a wayward wanderer. I move on from one thing to the next, forgetting the past and dreaming about the future. But I know that no matter what happens to me in this life, God will always be there for me.


He'll always be there for you, too.

56 views11 comments

Related Posts

See All

11 Comments


Guest
Oct 28, 2023

Thank you for this 💚

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Oct 28, 2023
Replying to

Of course!

Like

bella
Oct 28, 2023

Aw wow I love this Emma. 💙 I'm so sorry for your losses, and it's so cool how you are turning them around to point back to the Father's Always Good plan. It reminds me of the song Always Good by Andrew Peterson! 😊

Like
bella
Oct 28, 2023
Replying to

You're welcome!!

I wondered if it was! 😉😊

Like

cowgirlkennedy
Oct 17, 2023

Thank you for giving us this Emma ❤️

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Oct 17, 2023
Replying to

Thank you for reading it, Kennedy!

Like

Noah Ballard
Noah Ballard
Oct 14, 2023

Whoa. Thank you for this reminder, Emma!

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Oct 14, 2023
Replying to

Of course!

Like

Belle Thomas
Belle Thomas
Oct 13, 2023

* hugs*

so true

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Oct 14, 2023
Replying to

Thanks, Belle!

Like
bottom of page