top of page
  • Writer's pictureE. G. Runyan

Guest Post - Faithful In Little: Encouragement to the Average Artist


Photo credit to Kilarov Zaneit on Unsplash.


Today I have the honor of welcoming a guest blogger for a post! Indy Wild, author of the Indy Wild blog, is an adventurous fantasy writer who loves Christ, classics, and traveling the globe. His blog is one of my favorites to read, and I highly recommend you check it out here for posts on everything ranging from surviving tigers, to eating chocolate bug bars, to thoughts on writing and storytelling.


Faithful In Little: Encouragement to the Average Artist


Sometimes I get caught up in reading articles by famous people. I find myself trying to take in all the good advice that I can find across the entire Internet and absorbing every interview and always studying the people who’ve made it further than me.

I find myself so wrapped up in what someone else has written and taking all of his or her advice that I neglect what I’m supposed to be writing because it feels so small, so incapable, so worthless.

I forget that I’m a teenager who has only been writing for three years—that I have a lot of work to do before I can pitch a novel or get a thousand email readers. I get tripped up over how I’m going to settle my blog into a niche or write a good book that’s never been written, and, well, I find myself over complicating things.


In the Bible, we read a parable that tells the story of three men who were each entrusted with a certain amount of talents which they were supposed to invest for a profit and return to the Master (Matt. 25:14-30). The two servants who gained twice what they were given were rewarded while the one man who refused to invest his assets for fear that he would lose it was tossed into the miserable ‘outer darkness’. We find the words of the Master to the one who made five talents in verse 21.


His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’ (Matt. 25:21)

The idea painted by these verses is quite clear; be faithful over what God has given you. When you have a small audience, you need to be faithful over it.

Little steps can take you a long way, so be faithful and keep moving forward, because you never know where they will take you.


For me, this looks like following the road of tiny steps: writing consistently even if I’m not about to publish, blogging when it feels like no one is paying attention, being smart enough to write when I feel too dumb.


The path to success is demanding, but I implore you: take steps toward the prize. The harvest will come.

Refuse to give up.

 

88 views14 comments

Related Posts

See All

14 Comments


Guest
Aug 31, 2023

Superb perspective!

Like

lbdogwalking14
Aug 28, 2023

This was such an encouragement! My favorite part was "Take steps toward the prize. The harvest will come." SO GOOD!

Like
Noah Ballard
Noah Ballard
Aug 30, 2023
Replying to

Thank you and I'm glad that it encouraged you!

Like

Unknown member
Aug 25, 2023

thank you so much!

Like
Noah Ballard
Noah Ballard
Aug 30, 2023
Replying to

You're welcome!

Like

Guest
Aug 25, 2023

Wow, I really needed to hear this. Thank you for this reminder!!

Like
Noah Ballard
Noah Ballard
Aug 25, 2023
Replying to

You're welcome! I'm so glad that it was helpful!

Like

Guest
Aug 25, 2023

This was wonderfully encouraging. Thank you!

Like
Noah Ballard
Noah Ballard
Aug 25, 2023
Replying to

You're welcome, and, man, I'm so glad! Thank you!

Like
bottom of page