top of page
  • Writer's pictureE. G. Runyan

Ode To Amanda



I remember talking eagerly about books to Amanda during one of her visits. Looking at me, she suddenly said,

“Are you going to be an author?”

I was taken aback with surprise. But my answer was,

“I hope so.”


In 2022 she was suddenly and unexpectedly diagnosed with stage 4 colon cancer. Even while she was going through intense chemotherapy, while on a Bible study Zoom call with my Mother, she saw me pass by the camera and called,

“Emma! One of my favorite people! You’re such a beautiful girl. I can’t believe that my niece is going to be a famous author someday! When you are, will you let me have a percentage of your book deal?”

“I’ll give you 30 percent,” I said, grinning.


On the morning of July 18th, 2023, at the age of 38, she passed away.


She was always so full of life. She always told me she loved me. She always encouraged me in my creativity. She was always laughing. She was always pointing everyone to Christ.

Amanda sang, Amanda painted, Amanda wrote poetry. Amanda was one of the most amazing artists and one of the most amazing people that I’ve ever known.

It’s hard for me to even begin to comprehend that right now---this very minute---Amanda is in Heaven with the Jesus that she loved and praised so much as she suffered. She told us repeatedly,

“If one person comes to Christ through this, it will have been worth it.”

And,

“I’m no more special than the next person.”


Amanda knew that I wanted to be a writer almost before I did. Maybe I can no longer give her 30 percent of my first book deal—but I can seek to honor her memory with what I write. Amanda, my first published book I’ll dedicate to you.


I thank Amanda for showing me that even death can be a beautiful thing. I thank Amanda for always laughing. I thank Amanda for always being excited, energetic, and wonderful. I thank Amanda for being Amanda.


Praise be to God for His wondrous love. Praise be to Him for His wonderful story. Amanda was one of my favorite characters in it.


A poem by Amanda Olinger when she received her final diagnoses


Will you stay with me now


As the road’s clearly marked


Where faith and sight meet


And I finally depart


Will you stay by my side


Despite all the unknowns


Because the storm’s finally ending


And I get to go home


Will you lean in so close


To hear my last breath


It’s really a song


A song about death


It’s not a dark melody


Full of fear or regrets


But a quiet refrain


About how I’ve been blessed


Will you stay with me now


For my final goodbye


Because I’m taking a trip


To my home in the sky

112 views23 comments

Related Posts

See All

23 Comments


bella
Feb 19

Aw Emma this is so hard, but wow what a beautiful attitude you have in this post. <333

Like
bella
Feb 19
Replying to

💗💗💗

Like

Guest
Aug 05, 2023

That was really well written Emma.

-Wyatt

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Aug 05, 2023
Replying to

Thanks. Love ya, dude.🙂

Like

Guest
Aug 04, 2023

Oh, I love this whole story. Her poem was beautiful.

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Aug 04, 2023
Replying to

It really was beautiful! She was an incredible person.

Like

Unknown member
Jul 28, 2023

"The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away. Blessed be the name of the Lord."

- Job 1: 21

I'm so sorry for your loss, Emma, <3 she reminds me so much of someone I know! The above verse ^ is one that has helped me through my suffering. I'm sending prayers your way. <3

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Jul 30, 2023
Replying to

Thank you so much, friend! I echo that verse wholeheartedly. Thank you so much for that reminder!

Like

Molly McTernan
Molly McTernan
Jul 28, 2023

Oh, Emma, this was so, so beautiful. The last few sentences that you wrote really stood out to me and I absolutely loved her poem. This was such a sweet, heartfelt post and a wonderful goodbye.

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Jul 28, 2023
Replying to

Thank you, Molly! That means so much to me.

Like
bottom of page