top of page
  • Writer's pictureE. G. Runyan

Dear Dark World: Thoughts and A Poem

Updated: Aug 1, 2023



I went through a video course at my church recently for security. It was pretty heavy. While listening to it, I wanted to clap my hands over my ears, to run away, and to pretend I'd never heard what I was learning; but instead I stayed.

Why did I stay?

Because I care.

I really, really care.

After I got home, while thinking about these heavy things, I decided to write a poem. A poem for the world we live in.

The world is so dark. But it's also so dear. Like a child that misbehaves and a father that loves them unconditionally, that's what this world is like and what God is like to us. There are some parts of this world that I hate will every fiber of my being, and other parts that I hope I'd be willing to die for.

So without further ado, here is my poem for the world.


Dear Dark World


Dear dark world

So far from light

That runs away

From Christ's dear sight.


Dear dark world

Who shadows me

And makes my tread

Fall heavily.


Dear dark world

Who murders those

Who try to help

And lead you close.


Dear dark world

Who makes me cry

And makes me beg God

Asking, "Why?"


Dear dark world

Crucifying He

Who loves you

Unconditionally.


Dear dark world

So beautiful

So full of broken

Hopeless souls.


Dear dark world

I'll be like He

I'll love you

Unconditionally.

21 views2 comments

Related Posts

See All

2 Comments


Belle Thomas
Belle Thomas
Jun 06, 2023

Ooh wow. your experience with that course reminds me of a similar experience I had in an abuse training. It’s so hard to hear what people go throug, but yet despite all of the darkness that clouds the world God is still so good. I absolutely love this poem!

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Jun 06, 2023
Replying to

I agree with you, Belle.❤️ Thank you so much for reading!

Like
bottom of page