top of page
  • Writer's pictureE. G. Runyan

Catholicism VS Protestantism: A Blog Series




Today I finished watching this invigorating debate between British Catholic George Farmer and Protestant Allie Beth Stuckey. And wow, what a debate! I always love a good discussion and this by far was the best I’ve ever seen. Every minute was worth it. I walked away with a clearer understanding of Catholicism and a stronger faith in Protestantism. Just as importantly, I walked away with more confidence in how to address Catholicism in my own life.


I’m surrounded by wonderful, kind, loving Catholics here in Kansas who I love, respect, and believe have a saving faith and love for Christ. But that doesn’t mean that I don’t hold deep issues with the Roman Catholic church. And those are issues I feel called to address, because as I Christian I am called to be able to articulate what I believe about Christ’s Sacrifice for me, and why I believe it. Last summer I debated three Catholic teens on an online forum, specifically on issues like praying to the saints, the immaculate heart of Mary, and the rosary/the sacraments. We didn’t get anywhere, and I, quite frankly, was dissatisfied with my side of the argument. It wasn’t that I don’t firmly stand beside what I said then. I do. It’s that I’m not pleased with how I presented it. 


I wasn’t rude, and I didn’t disrespect them or their beliefs, but I came to the table with a very basic understanding of the Roman Catholic Church and a handful of misconceptions besides. I wish I had been more equipped and I wish I had been able to offer them more to think about and consider. 


I’ve long struggled with the issues I see in Catholicism, but I didn’t understand all of the nuances of the Roman Catholic Church. So, I naturally started to research.  I read a long email discussion between two friends, one of which was and is a Protestant, the other a former Protestant who converted to Catholicism. I read debates, I watched debates, I read Catholic articles and I read Protestant articles. 

In scouring the internet I came across a lot of arrogance and misconceptions on both sides, but all together, I’m pleased to say that I now have what I think is a fair understanding of Catholicism and its teachings. I don’t pretend to know or understand all of their Traditions, feasts, and practices, but I do think I have a good grasp on the main components of the Catholic faith. 


Overall, I’ve found this whole deep dive fascinating. There’s a lot about Catholicism I didn’t previously know, and a lot of the Protestants in my life don’t know about it either. I think that if we all, Catholics and Protestants, spent some time really digging into what the other party believes, we’d come to a new understanding.


But I don’t think we’d necessarily come to an agreement.


I think the Roman Catholic Church has a twisted view of salvation; one that invokes fear, confusion, inconsistencies, and unrepented sin. Infant baptism, the process of losing your faith through “mortal” sin, and the practice of confession, I believe undermine and disrespect the beauty of Christ’s sacrifice and love for us.


But there’s a lot more to it than that, and that’s why I’m starting this blog series discussing Catholicism and Protestantism.


I think this is worth a good discussion.


Watch the first part of the Farmer-Stuckey debate here.

116 views20 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Eclipse

bottom of page