top of page
  • Writer's pictureE. G. Runyan

Storm: A Poem

Updated: Aug 1, 2023



I'm sure I'm not the only one who has stood outside and watched a storm roll in. It's exhilarating to feel the wind pick up, to see the dark clouds rolling closer, to hear the leaves rustling in the breeze and to see the first faint flashes of lightning in the distance. I love standing and looking out as a storm hits, so I wrote a poem about it.


Storm


Quiet, silent, waiting, still

Standing on a stormy hill

Looking out across the plains

Waiting for the storm.


The wind picks up, it blows on me

It rustles in the cotton trees

The sunset brilliantly contrasts

The dark clouds, rolling closer.


Water droplets on my cheeks

The storm that has waited for weeks

Is now breaking loose upon

The hills, the grass, the valleys.


Here I’ll stand and here I’ll stay

No one can take me from this way

I have a hand to hold to tight

And through the storm I see the light.

26 views2 comments

Related Posts

See All

2 Comments


Belle Thomas
Belle Thomas
Feb 20, 2023

this is so beautiful!

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Mar 02, 2023
Replying to

Thank you, Belle!

Like
bottom of page