top of page
  • Writer's pictureE. G. Runyan

Coco Moon: A Review

Updated: Aug 1, 2023


For any of you TRON fans out there, you'll probably agree with me that this album cover totally looks like Sam Flynn is about to walk into Flynn's Arcade. Yet another reason why you should listen to this album.


A little over a week ago a new music album was officially released to the world. Coco Moon is the newest release of the alternate-pop band Owl City, who until now has not had an album come out since 2018.

Although the band is under a group name, the music is actually done by one person, Adam Young. Adam Young is a Christian, and although much of his following are not Christians his music often has Christian themes. He openly sings about his relationship with Christ and has sung many Christian songs, as well as singing with Toby Mac for a Veggietales movie. He has also had his music featured in films such as Wreck It Ralph, Dear Evan Hansen, and The Guardians of Ga’Hoole: Legend of the Guardians.

Owl City has been a staple band in my life ever since I can remember. All in all, it’s definitely my favourite band of all-time; not only is Adam Young’s music catchy and well-written, it is also true and has good messages. In the past three years I’ve listened to him about every single week (yes, it’s true).

When I heard a new album was coming out, I was thrilled, and when it was released on March 24th I was already listening to it by the next day.

I was not disappointed.

This album is a musical masterpiece. (Yes, I am listening to it as I write this blog post). Adam Young released the same unique sound and songs that he’s famous for, and out of all his albums this one is more outspokenly Christian than ever. These songs were so true and sweet (particularly My Muse, the song he wrote for his newlywed wife) that I found myself blinking back tears on more than one occasion. The song Field Notes, one of the first songs in the album, is a ballad based off of the parable Jesus tells about the man who sells all he has for the field where he finds gold.

If you like pop, Christian music, ballads, and whimsical songs, then you won’t find any other group quite like Owl City and any other album like Coco Moon. I was not disappointed even after waiting for years for this album. If you end up liking it, then there are several other of his albums and even more singles for you to listen to.


I couldn’t recommend any music group more. (If you listen to it, my favourite songs on the album so far are Under the Circus Lights, Kelly Time, Field Notes, The Tornado, The Meadow Lark, and My Muse.)

37 views7 comments

7 Comments


the.barrel.rider21
Apr 03, 2023

My favorite song on here is The Meadow Lark.

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Apr 03, 2023
Replying to

@the.barrel.rider21 @Hannah Peters That one is also one of my favourites! It made me want to cry.

Like

Hannah Peters
Hannah Peters
Apr 01, 2023

Absolutely in love with these songs now! 🥰

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Apr 01, 2023
Replying to

@Hannah Peters HURRAH! My goal has been achieved!😆

Like

lbdogwalking14
Mar 31, 2023

I love the name!

Like
E. G. Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Mar 31, 2023
Replying to

@lbdogwalking14 The music is even better!😁

Like
bottom of page